Carving out a piece of cloud #EDCMOOC

Ever since the course on Coursera officially started, the Google+ and Facebook groups have been hit by a tidal wave of new members. It’s more important now than ever to make decisions about my own focus and filters.

I would really like to find a cluster of like-minded souls in the #EDCMOOC cloud! Do give me a shout in the comments, Google+ or on Twitter.

My learning goals:

  • Use a set of interesting tools and theories surrounding digital culture(s)
  • Be part of a sustainable learning community
  • Learn about learning
  • Figure out the principles at work in MOOC

My interests, as far as MOOCs are concerned:

  • Learning design, instructional design, MOOC design
  • Connectivism, connected learning, learning communities
  • Digital Humanities
  • Higher Education
  • State of affairs in the big European e-learning projects and in particular in Belgium, France and The Netherlands
  • Digital literacy

My contribution:

  • Creating images and mash-ups
  • Layout
  • HTML and CSS
  • Figuring out blogs, feeds and Twitter
  • Languages: Dutch, French, English, in no particular order
  • Historical perspective (check out my “about” page)

Currently, I’m keeping track of #EDCMOOC through:

  • Coursera
  • Google+
  • a blog post here and there (Hoping to narrow it down to a personal selection matching my interests)
    For instance, Chris Swift’s Blog is interesting to keep up with the EDCMOOCcommunity: http://mybackyard78.blogspot.co.uk/
  • #edcmooc on Twitter
9 thoughts on “Carving out a piece of cloud #EDCMOOC

  1. heart to hear, i hear your points, filtering, design, underlying principles. Last time I engaged in this stuff was in uni – I blogged about a course in New Media Technology. I’m also interested in learning through games @Danxyeal #edcmooc

    Reply
  2. Hi Sara,

    I found your blog via Google+, and since some of your interests and goals intersect with mine I thought of dropping you a line. I’m Egbert Alejandro Martina and I teach media literacy in Amsterdam. I studied International Business and via several channels ended up doing what I’m doing now. I’m very much interested in open source methodologies, digital archives (e-libraries), decolonial pedagogies.

    Looking forward to exchanging thoughts with you.

    Reply
  3. Very interesting. Thanks. I have a blog but have not started posting about Coursera, so I guess I need to. My only concern with this course is the sheer amount of time I am spending just reading and finding information. I don’t think I was prepared to invest as much time as I am investing and I am just doing 1/100th of what I should!

    Reply
    • Thanks Claudia! I know, it is too easy to get caught up in reading all the fora and blogs… My good intention for next week, is to plan ahead and stick to a reading list..

      Reply
    • Hi Celine, Great!
      Actually, I already took a peek at your work, after “reading you” on the Google+ community. 🙂
      Yay, love the MIT “learning creative learning” lab. Let’s do this! How do I contact you?

      Reply

Leave a Reply

